2015 Oscars Winners Recap


2015 Oscars Winners Recap

The Academy Awards, the annual ceremony that celebrates all things film, were held yesterday. The winners have taken home their golden Oscar statues, and we have a recap of the nightly events for you.

Birdman and The Grand Budapest Hotel led the pack with four Oscars each. However, Birdman came away with the wins in the bigger categories, including best picture, best director, original screenplay, and achievement in cinematographyThe Grand Budapest Hotel took home wins in best original score, best production design, achievement in makeup and hairstyling, and achievement in costume design.

On the acting front, the big winners included best actress Julianne Moore for her roll in Still Alice, best actor Eddie Redmayne for his portrayal of Stephen Hawking in The Theory of Everything, best supporting actress Patricia Arquette for Boyhood (who made waves during her victory speech), and best supporting actor JK Simmons for Whiplash.

The complete list of winners and nominees is below:


Best supporting actor:

WINNER: JK Simmons for Whiplash

Robert Duvall for The Judge

Ethan Hawke for Boyhood

Edward Norton for Birdman

Mark Ruffalo for Foxcatcher


Achievement in costume design:

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero

Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges

Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood

Maleficent – Anna B Sheppard

Mr Turner – Jacqueline Durran


Achievement in makeup and hairstyling:

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon, Mark Coulier

Foxcatcher – Bill Corso, Dennis Liddiard

Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White


Best foreign-language film:

WINNER: Ida – Paweł Pawlikowski

Tangerines – Zaza Urushadze

Leviathan – Andrey Zvyagintsev

Wild Tales – Damián Szifrón

Timbuktu – Abderrahmane Sissako


Best live-action short film:

WINNER: The Phone Call – Mat Kirkby, James Lucas

Aya – Oded Binnun, Mihal Brezis

Boogaloo and Graham – Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney

Butter Lamp – Wei Hu, Julien Féret

Parvaneh – Talkhon Hamzavi, Stefan Eichenberger


Best documentary short subject:

WINNER: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 – Ellen Goosenberg Kent, Dana Perry

Joanna – Aneta Kopacz

Our Curse – Tomasz Sliwinski, Maciej Slesicki

The Reaper – Gabriel Serra

White Earth – Christian Jensen


Achievement in sound mixing:

WINNER: Whiplash – Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, Thomas Curley

American Sniper – John T Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, Walt Martin

Birdman – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Thomas Varga

Interstellar – Gary Rizzo, Gregg Landaker, Mark Weingarten

Unbroken – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, David Lee


Achievement in sound editing:

WINNER: American Sniper – Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman

Birdman – Aaron Glascock, Martín Hernández

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – Brent Burge, Jason Canovas

Interstellar – Richard King

Unbroken – Becky Sullivan, Andrew DeCristofaro


Best supporting actress:

WINNER: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood

Laura Dern for Wild

Keira Knightley for The Imitation Game

Emma Stone for Birdman

Meryl Streep for Into the Woods


Achievement in visual effects:

WINNER: Interstellar – Paul J Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter, Scott R Fisher

Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan Deleeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill, Daniel Sudick

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Erik Winquist

Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner, Paul Corbould

X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie, Cameron Waldbauer


Best animated short film:

WINNER: Feast – Patrick Osborne, Kristina Reed

The Bigger Picture – Daisy Jacobs, Chris Hees

The Dam Keeper – Robert Kondo, Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi

Me and My Moulton – Torill Kove

A Single Life – Joris Oprins


Best animated feature film:

WINNER: Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Song of the Sea

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya


Best production design:

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock

The Imitation Game – Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald

Interstellar – Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

Into the Woods – Dennis Gassner, Anna Pinnock

Mr Turner – Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts


Achievement in cinematography:

WINNER: Birdman – Emmanuel Lubezki

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert D Yeoman

Ida – Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski

Mr Turner – Dick Pope

Unbroken – Roger Deakins


Achievement in film editing:

WINNER: Whiplash – Tom Cross

Boyhood – Sandra Adair

The Imitation Game – William Goldenberg

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Barney Pilling

American Sniper – Joel Cox, Gary Roach


Best documentary feature:

WINNER: Citizenfour – Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky

Finding Vivian Maier – John Maloof, Charlie Siskel

Last Days in Vietnam – Rory Kennedy, Keven McAlester

The Salt of the Earth – Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, David Rosier

Virunga – Orlando von Einsiedel, Joanna Natasegara


Best original song:

WINNER: Selma – Lonnie Lynn (Common), John Stephens (John Legend) (“Glory”)

The Lego Movie – Shawn Patterson (“Everything Is Awesome”)

Beyond the Lights – Diane Warren (“Grateful”)

Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me – Glen Campbell, Julian Raymond (“I’m Not Gonna Miss You”)

Begin Again – Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois (“Lost Stars”)


Best original score:

WINNER: Alexandre Desplat – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game

Hans Zimmer – Interstellar

Jóhann Jóhannsson– The Theory of Everything

Gary Yershon – Mr Turner


Original screenplay:

WINNER: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo – Birdman

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

E Max Frye, Dan Futterman – Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson, Hugo Guinness – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler


Adapted screenplay:

WINNER: Graham Moore – The Imitation Game

Jason Hall – American Sniper

Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice

Anthony McCarten – The Theory of Everything

Damien Chazelle – Whiplash


Best director:

WINNER: Alejandro González Iñárritu for Birdman

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game


Best actor:

WINNER: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Bradley Cooper – American Sniper

Michael Keaton – Birdman


Best actress:

WINNER: Julianne Moore for Still Alice

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon – Wild


Best picture:

WINNER: Birdman

American Sniper


The Imitation Game

The Grand Budapest Hotel


The Theory of Everything





Written by:

Published on: February 23, 2015

Filled Under: Entertainment News

Tags: ,